Black Forest Gateau

Black Forest Gateau


By Kira

Black Forest Gateau, is a delicious German dessert. It consist of layers of chocolate cake filled cherries, kirsch and whipped cream between each layers. It is named after the liquor Schwarzwälder Kirsch which is used in the gateau.  Schwarzwälder Kirsch is a speciality liquor (distilled from tart cherries) of the black forest region.

This is my first attempt to make black forest gateau. I had some fresh cherries left in the fridge and I thought it would be wonderful for my black forest gateau. I made the chocolate cake separately, then sandwiched three layers of cake with whipped cream and cherry filling. For chocolate cake recipe follow my Diablo chocolate cake. The chocolate cake itself was soft and light. The whipped cream and cherry filling added moistness to the gateau. It tasted rich and deliciously.

The decorations on the cake does not justify its taste, I know it needs more work. I decorated it, without palette knife nor icing set. I also know my fingers needs practice, since I gave up on using paper and pen along time ago 🙂

Leave a Reply

