Butternut squash soup

Butternut squash soup

By Kira

It took me so long to get back to my blog. I was affected by flu and the only solution is to take lot of rest. For the past few years, every year I get affected by flu, so this year I thought I should get the flu shot. But guess what I got flu in the early season itself. I was too weak to cook and was thinking of liquid food to ease the sickness. Soups are the ultimate choice. It is easy to cook and I can make in large quantity and store it in fridge as well.

I am usually reluctant to have Lemsip drink for flu. I can’t stand its smell and it doesn’t taste good. But I overcame the shortcoming by making some wonderful soups.


Autumn season was almost there, variety of winter squashes were in season. I made butternut squash soup, it was wonderful with a mild note of curry flavour and smoothness from the addition of coconut milk. I added toasted sunflower seeds or chopped cashew nuts for the extra dimension of crunchiness to the soup.

Look out for some more soups to come in the following blog post 🙂

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 25 minutes
Total time: 35 minutes

Ingredients

  • Butternutsquash, peeled and cut into cubes of an inch 800 g (medium size)
  • Butter 5 g
  • Onion, peeled and chopped 1 (large)
  • Fresh Garlic, minced 3 cloves
  • Fresh Ginger, minced 1/2 tbsp
  • Fresh hot chill, deseeded and chopped 1/4 tsp
  • Curry powder, hot 1 tsp
  • Vegatable stock 700 ml
  • Coconut milk 100 ml (I mixed 2 tbsp coconut powder with water to make coconut milk)
  • Salt & pepper for seasoning Salt & pepper for seasoning
  • Sunflower seeds or chopped cashew nuts, toasted 3 tbsp (optional)
  • Corainder leaves, for garnish – 1 tbsp (optional)

Instructions

  • In a casserole pan, add the butter and heat it at medium. Once the butter starts to melt, add the onions and cook for 5 minutes or until translucent.
  • Add the garlic, ginger and chilli and cook for few minutes stirring frequently.
  • Add the curry powder and mix well.
  • Add the butternut squash, pinch of salt and pepper. Give everything a good mix and let it cook for 5 minutes.
  • Add the stock, bring it boil and simmer for about 20 minutes or until the butternut squash is tender.
  • Let it cool for 10 minutes. Blend everything until smooth consistency is achieved (do it in batches).
  • Mix the soup with coconut milk. Adjust the seasoning. Reheat the soup at low heat for 2 to 3 minutes.
  • Serve each bowl of soup topped with toasted nuts and corainder leaves.
Leave a Reply

