Lemon Thyme Slices with Lemon Custard

Lemon Thyme Slices with Lemon Custard

By Kira

This month my baking group had the theme “Herbs & Spices”. Often, I use spices in my baking, so I was determined to do something with herbs. While, I was in search of baking with herbs, I came across this recipe. I adopted the recipe according to my preference.

I chose to use “Lemon Thyme leaves” which is very flavoursome with hint of lemon. I started picking off the leaves, I realised it wasn’t easy at all. It needs too much concentration and patience. After a while, I sighed, in order to make it interesting, I started taking pictures of each stage. Well, I am glad I did that, now I can write an illustrated recipe.

Lemon Thyme 1

Prep time: 30 mins
Cook time: 27 mins
Total time: 57 mins

Ingredients
For Biscuit Base:

  • Plain flour 195 g
  • Unsalted Butter, room temperature 112 g (cut into cubes)
  • Raw Caster Sugar 120 g
  • Cornstarch 1.5 tbsp
  • Salt 1/8 tsp (a big pinch)
  • Lemon Thyme leaves 2 tbsp

For Lemon Custard:

  • Lemon Zest 1 tsp (I used zest of 1 large lemon)
  • Lemon juice 80 ml ( I used 1 & 1/2 large lemon)
  • Eggs, room temperature 2 medium size
  • Milk 20 ml
  • Granulated Sugar 130 g
  • Plain flour 2 tbsp
  • Lemon thyme leaves to garnish (optional)

Instructions

  • Place all the ingredients for the biscuit base in a food processor, pulse until it resembles coarse consistency as shown in the picture.Lemon Thyme2 Lemon Thyme3
  • Preheat the oven 180 C fan. Lightly grease a square/rectangle tin with butter. I used rectangular tin, so I end up with less thicker biscuit base. Transfer the crumbled biscuit base to the tin, level it with palette knife and gently press with your fingers to pack it slightly compact. Bake in the preheat oven for 15 minutes or until the edges lightly brown.Lemon Thyme4
  • Meanwhile, start to make the lemon custard. In a large mixing bowl, beat the eggs until pale and foamy. Add the milk and flour and mix until there is no lumps. Add the sugar, lemon juice and zest and mix everything until well combined.Lemon Thyme5
  • Pour the lemon custard on top of the baked biscuit base, make sure it is spread evenly. Place the tin into the oven and bake for 12 minutes or until the lemon custard is just set.Lemon Thyme6
  • Remove from oven and let it cool completely. Cut into squares and enjoy!!!Lemon Thyme7
    Lemon Thyme Bars
Leave a Reply

